Even a single-day lapse in insurance coverage could cause plenty of aggravation to all Bend drivers.
First-time offenders can expect to have their license and registration suspended with a $265 fine and up to $1,000 in court fines, depending on the offense. You will also be required to pay a $75 reinstatement fee and file for an SR-22, a proof of insurance compliance for a minimum of three years.
The state of Oregon also requires that you submit proof of insurance with a receipt. From there, they will verify insurance to ensure you stay compliant. Expect random requests to submit evidence of insurance to the Oregon Department of Transportation within 30 days of receiving the request.
One of the worst things about driving without insurance is that you are sure of higher premiums if you get caught. Therefore, we recommend you shop around to see if lower rates are available.