All Alaska drivers must carry car insurance. Expect steep fines, a suspended license, and other court hassles immediately after failing to provide proof of insurance after a traffic stop.
What Are the Mandatory Car Insurance Requirements in Alaska?
All Alaska drivers must carry the following state minimum liability coverage:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $50,000 per person
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $100,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $25,000
We highly recommend adding other types of auto insurance to your plan. These coverage types protect against collisions with other vehicles and non-collision-related incidents (e.g., theft, hail, or vandalism). Depending on the type of comprehensive coverage, you may also be reimbursed the actual cash value for your vehicle if it is stolen. There are other optional car insurance choices that may also provide financial security.
In short, the higher your coverage limits and the lower your deductibles, the greater peace of mind you will have of being fully covered in an accident.
What Factors Does Alaska Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?
When you are searching for the cheapest auto insurance in Alaska, keep in mind that insurance carriers take into account factors specific to you when giving a premium quote. For example, younger drivers are considered riskier, since, as a group, they tend to have less experience and have more accidents. Therefore, they will be paying high-risk car insurance prices until they grow older.
Likewise, if you have a spotty driving record, drive an expensive car that costs a lot to repair or have lapses in your car insurance history, you may be looking at higher premiums. Age and gender are not factors you can control, but keeping a clean driving record and choosing a safe car to drive will help.
Insurance carriers consider these factors when determining the cost of auto insurance:
- Driving record
- Zip code
- Marital status
- Make/model of vehicle
- Credit score
Don’t forget that your policy structure influences premiums. Increasing your deductible will get you lower premiums. A deductible is the amount of money paid out of pocket before your insurance company kicks in its part. Depending on the policy, deductibles can be as low as $250 and as high as $1,000.
What Is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Alaska?
Penalties for driving without insurance in Alaska come with plenty of aggravation.
To begin, first-time offenders can expect to pay a $500 fine and receive a 90-day license suspension until proof of insurance is shown. Before your license is reinstated, you must have an insurance company file an SR22 certificate on your behalf for three years, proving you have at least the state-required minimum car insurance. This will cause your car insurance premiums to increase significantly.
Second offenses will result in a 1-year driver’s license suspension, and any subsequent offenses may bump that up further. Your SR22 insurance will reset for another three years.
Note: Alaska drivers can provide proof of insurance within 30 days of being pulled over to avoid having their licenses suspended. This 30-day grace period still applies with a second offense.
Note: Alaska’s state minimum required liability requirements are $50,000 for bodily injuries per person, $100,000 for bodily injuries per accident, and $25,000 for property damage.
Am I Required to Report an Accident in Alaska to Authorities?
According to Alaska Statute Title 28, Chapter 35, Article 2, Section 28.35.080, all Alaskan drivers must report an accident in a timely manner, provided that the accident has resulted in injury and/or death or $2,000 or more in property damage. All reports must be completed within ten days after an accident to the local police department of the Department of Administration by yourself or a police officer.
For more information on how to report an accident to authorities in Alaska, visit Alaska Driver Self Report – Transportation Data Programs – Department of Transportation & Public Facilities – State of Alaska
You will also find forms for accident self-reporting and to obtain a certificate of insurance used to collect policy information after an accident.