Skip to main content

Cheap Car Insurance in West Virginia

Illustration of a car driving down a road next to a field with a highway banner that reads

Known as the “Mountain State,” West Virginia offers a treasure trove of nature and outdoor opportunities. From majestic Stonewall County to the lush surrounds of Tucker County, there is something in place for every outdoor enthusiast.

Some of West Virginia’s most popular attractions include the New River Gorge, Harpers Ferry National Historical Park, the West Virginia State Museum, and the Suspension Bridge, one of the largest suspension bridges in the country. Another under-the-radar gem is Berkeley Springs State Park, home of the historic Roman Bathhouse with its Federal-style architecture.

All drivers must carry car insurance in West Virginia to drive legally in the state. Keep reading to learn everything you need to know about car insurance in West Virginia, including average rates paid across its major cities, minimum required liability limits, and penalties for not reporting a traffic accident.

Quick Facts

  • The most dangerous road in West Virginia is U.S. Route 33, known for its twisting curves and deadly drop-offs.
  • There are more than 1,159,000 licensed drivers in West Virginia – 9.2 percent of them are uninsured.
  • West Virginia has a population of over 1.8 million people and continues to be one of the poorest – if not the poorest – states in the nation.
  • In 2020, there were 249 fatal accidents in West Virginia.

How Much Is Car Insurance in West Virginia?

The average annual cost of full coverage car insurance in West Virginia is $1,449, lower than the national average annual rate of $1,674. The state-required minimum liability insurance will run on average $458 for West Virginians, in contrast to the national average at $565.

More than a dozen factors affect the rates you pays, including age, gender, zip code, and enrolling in policy-related car insurance discounts such as bundling (e.g., combining auto and homeowners insurance). Another factor is your driving record, with a claims-free driving history within the last three to five years getting the cheapest car insurance in West Virginia.

What Is the Average Premium for Cheap Full Coverage Car Insurance in West Virginia?

In West Virginia, drivers pay an average monthly premium of $121 for full coverage car insurance.

One of our favorite recommendations is to seek a full coverage auto insurance policy with liability car insurance, collision and comprehensive coverage combined. Collision car insurance coverage protects against damages caused by vehicle-to-vehicle collisions, whereas comprehensive auto insurance coverage protects against damage due to scenarios outside your control, such as theft, hail, and vandalism.

Fortunately, there are many ways you can tweak your auto insurance policy. These ways include adjusting liability limits, increasing/decreasing deductibles, and adding miscellaneous coverage such as rental car reimbursement, roadside assistance, and medical payments.

How Much Is It for Cheap Liability Insurance or the Minimum Required Car Insurance in West Virginia?

The average cost of the minimum required car insurance in West Virginia is $38 per month.

Included in this coverage is liability car insurance, consisting of bodily injury/death liability insurance and property damage liability insurance, plus the state-required uninsured motorist coverage.

Your cost is subject to several factors, including your age, gender, zip code, type of vehicle and driving record.

How Do Rates Compare Across Major Cities in West Virginia?

Every city in West Virginia pays different rates due to demographic distribution, the number of claims, and incidence rates for theft, vandalism, moving violations, and other high-risk driving behaviors.

See our breakdown below for the monthly average premium five major cities in West Virginia pay.

City Full Coverage Insurance Liability Insurance Coverage
Weston $136 $42
Follansbee $128 $47
Falling Waters $115 $40
Berkeley Springs $119 $40
Ranson $116 $40

Unless otherwise specified, we use the following methodology to arrive at our average cost: male, age 30, lowest possible legal coverage allowed by state. Your rates will be determined by several factors, including your age, your gender and the amount of coverage you want to purchase.

Getting a Free Auto Insurance quote with Freeway is easy!

Are There Good Driver Discounts in West Virginia?

To be eligible for good driver car insurance discounts in West Virginia, your account must be in good standing with no record of moving violations, infractions, and claims for the past three to five years, depending on the insurer.

Outside of your account status, installing anti-lock brakes to enrolling in defensive driving courses can reap a discount on your premium. Another underrated discount is driving an older make and model vehicle, which costs insurers less to repair than newer vehicle models. Here’s a look at a few more car insurance discounts you can ask your agent about:

There are other discounts, as well. To find out if you qualify for any insurance discounts, ask your agent – especially if your circumstances change. For example, if you started working from home, you may be eligible for a less miles traveled discount.

West Virginia Car Insurance Laws

All West Virginia drivers must carry auto insurance meeting the state’s minimum liability requirements.

What Are the Mandatory Car Insurance Requirements in West Virginia?

All West Virginia drivers must adhere to the following minimum required coverage to drive legally in the state:

  • Bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000 per person/accident
  • Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000 per person/accident
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage: $25,000 per accident

We highly recommend a full coverage policy with collision and comprehensive insurance. A full-coverage policy provides an additional layer of protection covering vehicle-to-vehicle collisions and damages caused by things outside your control, such as theft, hail, and vandalism. Failing that, you can always increase the amounts of your liability coverage and add medical payment coverage.

What Is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in West Virginia?

Expect to pay serious penalties if caught driving without insurance in West Virginia.

First-time offenders can expect to pay anywhere from $200 to $5,000 in fines for their first offense, along with a 30-day license suspension until proof of insurance is provided. Any second or subsequent offenses will increase license suspension to 90 days. On top of suspended licenses, drivers are also required to apply for an SR-22 policy, which shows proof of financial responsibility and guarantees you meet the state’s minimum liability requirements.

In the most severe scenarios, you may also face a criminal penalty with a 15-day to a 1-year jail term, depending on the offense.

Do not be surprised if your monthly premiums triple under an SR-22 policy. As a newly-classified riskier driver, your premiums will stay up and continue to stay up for a minimum of three years.

What Factors Does West Virginia Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?

To determine your premiums in West Virginia, insurance companies look into the following factors:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Driving record
  • Zip code
  • Make/model of vehicle
  • Credit score
  • Claims history

Younger drivers will pay more for their car insurance, as they have not had time to establish a driving history and, as a group, tend to have more accidents and claims. Those who have been required to submit an SR-22 are classified as high-risk drivers and will be charged higher premiums.

Am I Required to Report an Accident in West Virginia to Authorities?

According to the West Virginia Code § 17C-4-6, all West Virginia drivers must report accidents, provided it results in injury, death, or $1,000 or more in property damage. All reports must be filed within 10 days with the local police department, county sheriff’s office, or West Virginia State Police office.

As a West Virginia driver, you have the right to request a copy of your accident report, which can be obtained in person at your nearest law enforcement office or by mail. You are also free to consult with an attorney to negotiate with insurance companies on your behalf.

For a copy of a West Virginia Department of Transportation crash report request form, visit West Virginia State Police Criminal and Crash Report Request Form.

Image office

Find an office near you to help with your auto insurance

What Is Driving Like in West Virginia?

How Many Car Accidents Happen in West Virginia?

According to 2020 crash data by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there were 249 fatal accidents in the state.

Here are the number of fatal car accidents for each of the five largest cities by population in West Virginia:

City Fatal Car Accidents in 2020
Charleston 7
Huntington 6
Morgantown 7
Parkersburg 7
Wheeling 2

How Many Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Are in West Virginia?

According to the Insurance Information Institute, roughly 9.2% of West Virginia drivers are uninsured. This figure places it in 36th place in the country, with New Jersey (3.1%) and Mississippi (29.4%) owning the lowest and highest rates, respectively. Although no official stats on the exact number of uninsured motorists exist, this estimate is based on the ratio of uninsured motorists (UM) claims to bodily injury (BI) claims frequencies in the state.

To view the estimated percentage and ranking of uninsured motorists across all states, visit the Insurance Information Institute.

FAQs About West Virginia Car Insurance

I Am a Low-Income Driver. What Can I Do About Getting the Cheapest Car Insurance in West Virginia?

Fortunately, low-income drivers in West Virginia can save on auto insurance in a number of ways.

We highly recommend shopping around and comparing car insurance quotes from different insurance companies. As each insurer uses proprietary rating systems to calculate risk, one could offer 50% less annual premiums than a competing insurer for the same coverage.

Another way to save on car insurance is to apply for discounts. Also, raising your deductible will lower your monthly premium. Just make sure you can cover the deductible if you have to file a claim.

In turn, auto insurers offer policy discounts for bundling two or more insurance policies from the same insurer, paying your entire premium upfront, and scheduling automatic payments using electronic funds transfer (ETF).

Can an Undocumented Worker Get Cheap Car Insurance in West Virginia?

Unfortunately, West Virginia does not allow undocumented workers to obtain car insurance.

Is It Possible to Get Low-Cost Car Insurance in West Virginia With a DUI Mark on my Record?

A DUI mark on your record will impede your ability to find cheaper car insurance in West Virginia.

Since you will most likely be required to purchase SR-22 insurance, your monthly premium could double or triple. If you’ve been convicted of impaired driving, you’ll be looking for DUI car insurance. Not all insurance companies care to insure such high-risk drivers, so you need to find one that offers DUI solution coverage.

Get an Affordable Online Car Insurance Quote in West Virginia Today!

Welcome to West Virginia highway sign in West Virginia

All West Virginia drivers can benefit from cheap and affordable coverage with a minimum liability or full policy from Freeway Insurance.

To find the right coverage for you and your family, request a fast and free car insurance quote online, visit us at a West Virginia office near you or call 800-777-5620 for a free, no-obligation quote.

Auto Insurance Info by City