Skip to main content

Cheap Car Insurance in Point Pleasant, WV

Illustration of van driving by Freeway Insurance headquarters

Everything You Need to Know About Auto Insurance in West Virginia

Located on the banks of the Ohio and Kanawha rivers, Point Pleasant is a quaint city home to roughly 4,350 West Virginians. Steeped in history and folklore, Point Pleasant caters to families and myth seekers alike.

Riverfront Park’s historical murals and statutes depict the 18th-century Battle of Point Pleasant, while the Mothman Museum showcases the legend of the winged mythical creature reportedly spotted in Point Pleasant between 1966 and 1967. According to West Virginia, Tu-Endie-Wei State Park — known as the TNT area — is the rumored home of the Mothman.

All Point Pleasant drivers must have auto insurance coverage under state law. Not having it can lead to license suspension, fines, and other fees. Keep reading to learn more about car insurance in West Virginia, including average monthly rates.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Point Pleasant, West Virginia?

Point Pleasant drivers pay an average monthly premium of around $36 for state-mandated minimum liability auto insurance — that’s $1 more than the state average of $35 and $16 less than the national average of $52.

Those who live in Point Pleasant and have full auto coverage typically pay an average monthly premium of around $130 per month — that’s $2 less than the state average of $132 and $38 less than the national average of $168.

What Does It Mean If West Virginia Is an At-Fault State?

Because West Virginia is an at-fault state, a driver who causes a crash is financially responsible for all losses and damages that result. In other words, the at-fault driver must pay for any injuries sustained by others involved in the crash and property damage.

Getting a Free Auto Insurance quote with Freeway is easy!

Affordable Car Insurance Rates Comparison by Cities in West Virginia

The following chart compares average monthly auto insurance premiums paid by Point Pleasant residents and those living in some other West Virginia cities.

City Full Coverage Liability Insurance Coverage
Point Pleasant $130 $36
Henderson $131 $36
Lakin $130 $35
Gallipolis Ferry $131 $36
Arlee $131 $36

Affordable Point Pleasant Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code

Where you live is vital in determining how much you’ll pay monthly for auto coverage. Insurance agencies use zip codes to calculate premium rates based on risk factors in these areas, like the number of vehicle crashes. Here’s a breakdown of the amount paid for full coverage and state-required liability insurance by residents of Point Pleasant living in zip code area 25550, along with those living in other zip codes.

Zip Code Full Coverage Liability Insurance Coverage
25550 $130 $36
25106 $131 $36
25287 $130 $35
25253 $130 $35
25264 $130 $35
25187 $132 $36
25260 $130 $35
25515 $131 $36
25239 $131 $35

Low-Cost Car Insurance Rates by Age in Point Pleasant

Age is one of the biggest deciding factors auto insurance companies use to determine your rates. Those under age 25 generally pay the highest premiums thanks to a lack of driving experience and collective riskier driving behaviors like speeding.

For the average monthly premium paid by Point Pleasant residents by age, see our breakdown below:

Age Full Coverage Liability Insurance Coverage
Teenagers $457 $124
20s $157 $41
30s $128 $35
40s $122 $35
50s $114 $33
60s $116 $35
70s $138 $42

Our average rates are based on the following methodology: male, age 30, lowest possible legal coverage allowed by West Virginia. In addition to age, your rates will be determined by several other factors, including your gender and the type of coverage you want to purchase.

Driving Conditions in Point Pleasant

How Many Fatal Accidents Happen in Point Pleasant?

Point Pleasant has at least one fatal car accident every year on average, according to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. More than one fatal crash is rare in this city. Records show three crash-related fatalities happened in 2012, two in 2015, and another two in 2018.

How Are the Road Infrastructure and Bridges in Point Pleasant?

Point Pleasant is the county seat of Mason County. Together, the city and county ensure roads are paved and safe for vehicles and pedestrians. Point Pleasant was the site of the catastrophic Silver Bridge collapse in 1967, and in the decades since this tragedy, bridge inspectors with the West Virginia Department of Transportation check the city’s bridges regularly to ensure they are able to carry their design loads.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Point Pleasant

To legally drive in West Virginia, Point Pleasant drivers must have car insurance that meets the following minimum requirements:

  • Bodily injury liability ($25,000 for one person; $50,000 for two or more people)
  • Property damage liability ($25,000 per accident)
  • Uninsured or underinsured motorist bodily injury ($25,000 per person; $50,000 per accident)
  • Uninsured or underinsured motorist property damage ($25,000 per accident)

What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Point Pleasant, West Virginia?

Point Pleasant follows West Virginia state law, which has strict penalties for those caught driving without coverage. These penalties escalate with every offense.

  • First offense. Expect to pay anywhere from $200 to $5,000 in fines. Your license will be suspended for 30 days until you provide proof of coverage.
  • Second and subsequent offenses. Your license will be suspended for 90 days, and you’ll be expected to apply for an SR-22 policy, which offers proof of your financial responsibility and guarantees you meet the state’s minimum liability requirements.

Be aware that you might also face a criminal penalty that carries a 15-day to 1-year jail term, depending on the severity of the offense. Also, if you’re required to apply for an SR-22, your provider will consider you a high-risk driver, making your monthly premiums skyrocket for at least three years.

Image office

Find an office near you to help with your auto insurance

Factors Allowed in Point Pleasant Car Insurance Rates

Our statistics show how location, age, and zip code influence the amount you’ll pay for auto coverage in Point Pleasant. Your monthly premium isn’t limited to these three factors.

Several others are also used by companies to calculate your monthly premium. These include:

  • Driving history
  • Vehicle type
  • Deductible amount
  • Coverage amount
  • Marital status
  • Education

Here’s What You Need to Know When Driving in West Virginia

In West Virginia, state law requires all drivers to report crashes that result in the injury or death of anyone involved or that cause property damage of $1,000 or greater. The state gives you 10 days to file your report with the local police department, the county sheriff’s office, or the West Virginia State Police.

All West Virginian drivers involved in a crash have the right to request a copy of the accident report filed by the responding law enforcement agency. This can be done in person at the nearest agency office or by mail.

What Are the Best Discounts for Car Insurance in Point Pleasant, WV?

Discounts are a great way to lower your monthly premiums. You’ll wind up saving more on your policy if you’re eligible for more than one discount.

Several discounts are available to Point Pleasant drivers. Some of the most popular include:

You can also save money by bundling your coverage and purchasing more than one policy from the same company. Bundling your home insurance with your auto coverage, for example, can lower your monthly premiums significantly.


Get an Online Quote for Car Insurance in Point Pleasant Today!

West Virginia Riverfront Amphitheater with the Point Pleasant-Kanauga Railroad Bridge over the Ohio River

Under West Virginia law, all Point Pleasant drivers must have an auto insurance policy that meets state minimum liability requirements or provides full coverage. Freeway Insurance can help you get the coverage you need at the best price.

Get started with a quote online, visit us at a West Virginia office near you, or call us at (800) 777-5620 for a quote.