Freeway offers all Dodge drivers different types of car packages, including the state minimum liability, full and plenty of other options.
Full coverage policies go above and beyond state minimum liability with the inclusion of additional protections in the event of an accident or other covered instance. One of those added is comprehensive coverage. This can provide financial relief if your truck is stolen, it becomes damaged in a hail storm or other events, such as you hit a deer.
The other additional protection is collision coverage. Whether you cause a wreck or someone else is at fault, your collision will kick in to help pay for repairs if the liability levels are not enough to pay for the total.
Unlike state minimum liability, full covers your own repair costs, not just those of opposing drivers and property.
The Average Cost of Full Coverage
Not surprisingly, full policies cost substantially more than state minimum policies. The average for your truck will be $1,697 annually. Keep in mind it could be more or less depending on factors such as your age, your driving record, where you live and how much deductible you are willing to pay.
State Minimum Liability
State minimum liability is the minimum amount required by each state, consisting of bodily injury (BIL) and property damage (PDL). Depending on what state you live in, you may also be required to add other protections, such as uninsured motorist coverage (UM) and Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
Different states have their requirements. For example, all Louisiana drivers must carry liability limits of $15,000 BIL per person, $30,000 BIL per accident, and $25,000 PDL. However, Kentucky drivers must purchase $25,000 BIL per person, $50,000 BIL per accident, and $25,000 PDL, plus $10,000 PIP.
Regardless of whether your state requires UM, it’s cheap for the value it provides if you get hit by someone who is uninsured. If you live in a no-fault state, your property damage liability pays for your damages, regardless of who is at fault. If you live in an at-fault state, your bodily injury and PDL go to the other parties involved if you are at fault.
State Minimum Average Cost
The lowest you’ll pay, on average, is $527 annually. This rate is reserved for a mature driver with a clean history who lives in a place where there is a low incidence of claims, wrecks and lawsuits.