Several types of auto policies are available for Volkswagen Jetta drivers, including but not limited to state minimum liability and full coverage.
Full coverage generally comprises a mix of liability, collision and comprehensive insurance. Unlike state minimum liability (which only provides third-party benefits), full coverage provides first-party benefits, most notably with collision and comprehensive that protects against a broader range of scenarios like vehicle-to-object, rollover collisions and damage that happens when you aren’t behind the wheel, such as theft or hail.
Sometimes you may be required by your leasing or finance company to carry a full policy since they technically “own” your vehicle until your loan is paid off in full.
Despite a full policy costing several hundred dollars more per year than state minimum liability, it is highly recommended.
Remember, a single at-fault accident could result in many thousands of dollars worth of property damage and medical bills by third parties. Carrying California’s sparse minimums of $15,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $30,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $5,000 in property damage liability wouldn’t cut it in a case such as this.
State Minimum Liability
All states require that drivers carry minimum liability, representing third-party benefits for bodily injury and property damage liability.
Bodily injury liability covers the cost of lost wages, medical bills, and related expenses sustained by drivers injured in an at-fault accident you cause. Conversely, property damage liability covers the cost of repair or replacement of third-party property, including but not limited to vehicles, fences, houses, and mailboxes.
Some states require additional coverage, such as uninsured/underinsured motorist, personal injury protection (PIP), and medical payments (MedPay).
Drivers can always add optional car protections such as roadside assistance, and rental car reimbursement.
All states have their minimum liability requirements. For example, all Texas drivers must carry a minimum of $30,000 for bodily injury per person, $60,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. That means insurers will only pay up to those limit before policyholders chip in and cover the rest out-of-pocket.