Getting a Free Auto Insurance quote with Freeway is easy!
Types of Car Insurance Coverage for a Kia Sorento
Freeway Insurance offers many policy options, including but not limited to state minimum liability and full coverage.
State minimum liability includes two types of coverage: bodily injury and property damage liability, which pay for the injuries/death of other people and damages to someone else’s property in an at-fault accident you are responsible for.
Full coverage provides first- and third-party benefits with liability, collision, and comprehensive. People with a full coverage policy may also pursue add-ons like rental car reimbursement, roadside assistance, and medical payments (MedPay) coverage to complement their insurance policy.
Kia Sorento drivers can opt for additional coverages for greater peace of mind, such as personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. These also may or may not be required depending on your state.
Full coverage is better than state minimum liability because it offers first-party benefits like physical damage protection (collision/comprehensive) for your vehicle. Even if it costs several hundred dollars more per year than a liability-only policy, its first-party benefits are well worth it.
Don’t rely on a liability-only policy, which only provides third-party benefits covering the cost of injuries and damages to others, not to yourself or your vehicle.
State Minimum Liability
State minimum liability is the minimum liability insurance coverage you must carry by law. On top of it being a legal requirement, it offers financial protection for drivers.
Every state has mandated minimum liability limits. For example, North Carolina drivers must carry a 30/60/25 policy (or $30,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $60,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability per accident). It is recommended you carry well above the state minimums because even a single accident may cost $100,000 in medical expenses and $60,000 in property damages to third parties.
In North Carolina, anyone carrying a state minimum liability policy will be forced to pay out of pocket to cover the remaining expenses, resulting in potential lawsuits by others.