If you drive this compact SUV, you can purchase full or minimum liability coverage or a combination of those and other types of coverage. Minimum liability policies are typically cheaper because they provide the basic protection you need to meet state requirements.
If you cause a crash while driving your SUV and others involved are hurt, your minimum liability policy will take care of any medical costs involved if anyone is hurt, as well as property damage — to a specific extent, though. If the treatment for bodily injuries and damage costs exceed your policy limits, you will have to pay for any outstanding balances out of pocket.
By contrast, a full coverage policy covers all the costs you incur, as well, no matter who is at fault.
Because this vehicle is discontinued, this might affect your coverage options. Older vehicles can be cheaper to insure than newer models, but their safety features are a bit outdated, which can be risky on the road.
Another important factor to consider is the availability of vehicle parts if your SUV needs repair. The manufacturer still sells vehicle parts and accessories for this SUV on its website. One day, it likely won’t, and fixing this SUV will be more expensive, driving up your monthly premium.
Full auto coverage combines liability protection with comprehensive and collision, which protects you financially if you crash your vehicle.
The liability aspect of your policy takes care of medical claims filed by anyone injured in a crash and any property damage caused. Collision kicks in if you’re involved in any kind of crash — whether with a car, another SUV, a commercial truck, or property, like a fence or a building.
Comprehensive takes care of damages caused by vandalism or a weather event. You’ll be able to get your SUV repaired with your insurer paying the costs.
State Minimum Liability
A state-required minimum liability policy gives you the basic protection required by your state to cover bodily injuries and property damage.
Requirements vary by state. Drivers in New Hampshire, for example, don’t have to buy auto insurance, but they do need to prove that they can pay for the costs of a crash they cause — that includes medical treatment if anyone involved is hurt and repairs for property damage. Other states, like Florida and Ohio, require that policies include minimum coverage amounts.
Keep in mind that minimum liability may not be enough to cover injuries and damages you cause in an accident. For example, in Texas, drivers are required to carry $30,000 for bodily injury/death liability for one person, $60,000 for two or more people injured or killed in an accident you cause and $25,000 in property damage. If you hydroplane in a rain storm and sideswipe a Lexus with your Patriot, you may be looking at repairs well over $25,000 – that will come out of your pocket if you decide not to increase your limits.