Driving without insurance in Dayton or Ohio is not a good idea.
First-time offenders can expect a driver’s license and registration suspension until proof of insurance is provided, as well as a $50 fine and $100 reinstatement fee. Second and subsequent offenders face the same $50 fine with higher $300 and $600 reinstatement fees and a longer suspension term of up to two years.
Regrettably, first-time offenders will be required to carry an SR-22 for a minimum of three years versus five years for second, third, and subsequent offenses. An SR-22 is proof of financial responsibility that lets the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) know that you are carrying the minimum required liability limits to drive legally in the state.
Remember, all Ohio drivers must carry at least bodily injury liability of $25,000 per person, a bodily injury liability of $50,000 per accident, and property damage liability of 25,000 per accident.