Penalties for driving without insurance in Arizona are very steep.
All first-time offenders should expect a three-month license, registration, and license plate suspension with a $35 reinstatement fee. Second, third, and subsequent offenders will see increased fines of up to $100, longer suspension periods, and the same reinstatement fee.
On top of fines, suspensions, and reinstatement fees, all drivers caught driving without insurance in Arizona may be forced to file an SR-22 certificate for two years. An SR-22 certificate lets your insurance company and law enforcement know that you carry proof of financial responsibility. Regrettably, your insurance premiums will rise as a result.
Fortunately, there are two ways to reduce or eliminate fines. The first is to remain offense-free within the last three years, and the second is to purchase a six-month car insurance policy meeting the state’s minimum required coverage. Then, expect to pay reinstatement fees if your license and suspension are suspended.