Penalties for driving without auto insurance in Fort Wayne are very steep.
First-time offenders can expect a $250 reinstatement fee and a 90-day driver’s license suspension by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), along with a possible 1-year suspension of their registration.
A second offense doubles the reinstatement fee to $500 and a 1-year driver’s license suspension. Third and subsequent offenses face a $1,000 reinstatement fee and a 1-year driver’s license suspension.
All three levels will require drivers to file for an SR-22 certificate, which proves they have the minimum required auto insurance. Filed by your insurer, SR-22s remain on file for three years, starting from the first day of your suspension. Anyone required to file an SR-22 is considered a risky driver and will most likely be paying high-risk car insurance prices.
Note, all Indiana drivers pulled over by law enforcement are expected to present valid proof of insurance.