Skip to main content

Florida Car Insurance Requirements and Coverage

A road sign that reads Welcome to Florida to illustrate the car insurance requirements for that state.

What Are the Car Insurance Requirements in Florida?

Car Insurance in Florida only requires $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability insurance. We say “only” because this is far less than any other state in the nation requires for the minimum amount of liability insurance, except New Hampshire, which does not require any car insurance at all.

How Much Does Car Insurance in Florida Cost?

For the state-required minimum liability coverage, the average amount is $1,101 annually. This is probably not what you will pay, since car insurance rates are dependent on many unique factors, such as where exactly you live, your age, the type of vehicle you drive and, most importantly, your driving record. 

Why Does Florida Only Require PIP and Property Damage Insurance?

In the 1970s, Florida decided to buck the car insurance trend of requiring bodily injury/death liability insurance and only require $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP). In many no-fault states, PIP is a car insurance requirement in addition to bodily injury/death.  According to sources, state officials hoped people injured in accidents would use their own personal health insurance to pay for most of their medical expenses. They were hoping this would result in lower insurance premiums and reduced personal injury lawsuits arising from crashes. 

However, many people find fault with Florida’s required levels, arguing that it doesn’t offer enough protection to anyone involved in a serious wreck. And Florida’s minimum insurance is still fairly pricey, coming in at an average of $1,101 per year. Compared to a sampling of other no–fault states, Kentucky ($748), Massachusetts ($510) and Pennsylvania ($427), Florida residents are still paying high premiums.  

Many people would like to see Florida’s required insurance laws change, so stay tuned. 

Senior couple driving a convertible in Florida

Is Florida a No-Fault State?

Florida is a no-fault state. That means that your car insurance coverage pays for your damages and injuries, no matter who is at fault in an accident. At-fault states require the insurance of whoever is at fault in an accident to pay for the other driver(s) and their passengers’ injuries and their vehicle’s damages. Most no-fault states, and some at-fault states, require additional medical protection in the form of PIP or MedPay. 

What is Personal Injury Protection?

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) helps pay for medical expenses arising from a covered event, such as a car accident. PIP is typically required in no-fault states to pay for injuries of drivers and their passengers. PIP generally covers hospital bills, medical bills, lost wages, and even child care and house cleaning, if you cannot perform these tasks due to your injuries. 

What is Property Damage Liability?

Property Damage Liability in Florida helps pay for any damage caused to your vehicle during a crash and up to policy limits, minus your deductible. Obviously, the $10,000 Florida requires in property damage liability is not much, especially when compared to repair costs for today’s cars with their advanced computer-aided equipment. 

You can always add more PIP and property damage insurance to your coverage, as well as other protections that in Florida would be considered optional car insurance, such as comprehensive and collision

Do I Have to Buy Car Insurance in Florida?

Yes, you have to buy at least $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability.  

If the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) has no record of your car insurance policy, you will usually be notified by mail. In fact, it is required that insurance companies electronically notify the DHSMV if your insurance policy was cancelled. Once you are given a notification, it will have a date of suspension. If you do not provide any proof of insurance to the DHSMV by the suspension date, your drivers license, plates, and registration will all be suspended. 

You will then have to get the minimum required insurance and pay a fee in order to reinstate your license, plates, and registration. The reinstate fees/penalties are the following as of August 2017: 

  • $150 for the first offense
  • $200 for the second offense 
  • $500 for the third offense and every additional offense afterward 

It is less costly and safer overall if you adhere to the law and have the required state minimum coverage. It will help keep you legal while also providing some protection in case of an accident. 

Find Affordable Florida Car Insurance Online Today

Now that you know the Florida state minimums for insurance, you may need to get an updated policy in order to stay legal. In fact, you’ll probably want more widespread protection at a lower cost. Freeway Insurance can provide you the best insurance rates available in the state. Give us a call at (800) 777-5620, visit us at our Florida locations or get a Florida car insurance quote online to stay legal, stay covered, and stay safe. 

Ready to Get a Quick Quote? 

Ready to Get a Quick Quote?