Skip to main content

Kansas Car Insurance Requirements and Coverage

A road sign that reads Kansas Welcomes You! to illustrate the Kansas car insurance requirements.

If you’re ever in a car accident and found to be at fault, having the right insurance can help you to avoid a financial catastrophe by paying for damage to the other vehicle(s) and for the victims’ medical expenses. Because this is so important, in Kansas, car insurance is required by law for all drivers.

Kansas Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements

Since insurance is a requirement, it’s helpful when you’re shopping for a new policy to know just what the requirements are. Even though any reputable agent will point you toward policies that meet Kansas insurance regulations, you would be wise to familiarize yourself with these rules so that you can select the best policy for your needs. So let’s review what you’re required to have.

Liability Insurance

One of the most important functions of an auto insurance policy is to pay for other drivers’ expenses in the event you’re at fault in an accident. That’s the purpose of liability coverage, and here are the state’s minimum requirements:

  • Bodily Injury – at least $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident
  • Property damage – at least $25,000 per accident

Personal Injury Coverage

Kansas is different from many states, in that it is a no-fault state. This means that, regardless of who’s at fault in an accident, your own injuries are covered by your personal injury coverage. In the event that your medical expenses from your injuries exceed the amount that your policy covers, the excess may be covered by the other driver’s liability coverage if that driver is the one at fault.

Kansas requires you to be covered for at least these minimums:

  • $4,500 for medical costs for each person.
  • Disability and loss of income coverage of $900 per month for up to one year.
  • $25 per day substitution benefits – up to one year – to cover the cost of hiring in-home help for your normal household tasks that you are unable to complete due to your injuries.
  • $2,000 in funeral benefits.
  • $4,500 in rehabilitation benefits.

Uninsured Motorist

What happens if you are hit by a driver who doesn’t have insurance or who has too little coverage for your injuries? That’s the purpose of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. You are required to be covered for at least $25,000 per person for bodily injury with at least a $50,000 maximum per accident.

What If You’re Caught Driving Without Insurance?

In Kansas, you won’t be able to register or re-register your vehicle without the minimum insurance coverage in place. Driving without insurance is a Class B Misdemeanor, and you face the following penalties if you are caught:

First Offense

  • $300-$1,000 fine
  • Up to 6 months in jail, or a combination of fine and jail time
  • Suspension of your license and registration until you can provide proof of insurance
  • $100 reinstatement fee
  • Must file SR-22 for three years

Second Offense

The penalties increase with the second offense:

  • $800-$2,500 fine
  • Up to a year in jail
  • License and registration suspended until you can provide proof of insurance
  • $300 reinstatement fee
  • Must file SR-22 for three years

Third and All Subsequent Offenses

If you’re caught driving without insurance for a third time or more, here is what you can expect:

  • $800-$2,500 fine
  • 1-2 years in jail
  • Driving privilege revoked for three years
  • $300 reinstatement fee
  • Must file SR-22 for three years

All offenses will require filing an SR-22. Kansas requires this form to be filed by the insurance company with the state, as proof that you have at least the minimum required insurance. In addition to driving without insurance, it can also be required for a DUI or DWI conviction, or for refusal to take a breathalyzer test.

You can see that in Kansas state, insurance is taken seriously and it doesn’t pay to be caught driving without it. Fortunately, as you’re shopping for a new policy you might notice that in Kansas, auto insurance quotes come in a bit lower than in many states. Rates aren’t the lowest in the country, but relatively speaking, cheap car insurance in Kansas is available. That said, when it comes to cheap auto insurance, Kansas residents should keep in mind that the cheapest policy might not be the best for you. Now that you’re aware of what’s required, you are a better informed shopper who’s prepared to find the right policy for your needs and budget.

Now that you’ve learned the basics about Kansas auto insurance requirements, request a free Kansas car insurance quote online or by calling 800-467-8733 and find out how much you can save on car insurance. Freeway Insurance can help you obtain low-cost Kansas auto insurance, even if you have tickets, an accident or DUI.

Ready to Get a Quick Quote?