Chico, California drivers can expect the hammer to drop if caught driving without insurance.
A first conviction assesses fines anywhere from $100 to $250 plus penalty assessments. A second conviction sees considerably higher fines ($200 to $500). With one or more convictions, your vehicle may also be impounded.
Unlike most states, California assigns penalty assessments for each conviction. Depending on where you live, penalty assessments can range from $2 for every $10 in fees upwards of $10 for every $10 in fees. This means a $100 fine can result in $400+ in total out-of-pocket costs.
Remember, California’s legally required coverage amounts are $15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, $30,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and $5,000 of property damage liability coverage.