To drive legally in Nevada, you need car insurance. Las Vegas, Reno, Sparks, Carson City, everywhere in the state requires its residents to have a Nevada car insurance policy. But what are the minimum requirements for NV insurance? What are the penalties if you are caught driving without car insurance? Nevada citizens, learn and take note. Here are some car insurance basics regarding your state.
Nevada’s Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
The Nevada DMV requires all the state’s citizens to have liability insurance for their automobiles. This Nevada insurance plan pays for damages done to another vehicle or any injuries that were due to an accident of which you were found at fault.
Drivers in Nevada must have the following car insurance coverage minimums:
- $15,000 for bodily injury coverage per person
- $30,000 for bodily injury coverage per accident
- $10,000 for property damage coverage
Insurance companies in Las Vegas and other cities in Nevada offer this coverage as the legal minimum coverage, but higher coverage limits can be offered or added to your policy. A quick call to an insurance agent can get you affordable Nevada car insurance quotes that will fit your needs.
What Does Nevada’s “Fault” Insurance System Mean?
Let’s say you made a mistake and collided with another vehicle in Las Vegas. Car insurance laws in Nevada would place you “at-fault” since you were the cause of the accident and would typically hold you financially accountable for any damages, injuries, or other losses. Any claims made would be done through your insurance company, not through the victim’s policy. It should be noted that the insurance minimums required for Nevada would help pay for damages you have done to another person or another car, not your car. Again, it is recommended that you have a policy that covers beyond the legally required minimum in order to be better protected.
Penalties for Driving While Uninsured in Nevada
There a number of different penalties levied if you are caught driving uninsured in Nevada. The punishment varies depending on the length of time you have driven without coverage and the severity of any traffic violations made while you were uninsured, such as a DUI. Las Vegas, Carson City, and anywhere else in Nevada is applicable to these fines and penalties.
Some penalties for driving without proper car insurance coverage include:
- Reinstatement fees for the suspension of your driver’s license and registration varying from $250 to $751, depending on your number of violations
- Fines up to $1,000 depending on how you long have driven without insurance in the state of Nevada
- Requiring SR-22 insurance for 3 years if you drove uninsured for 91 days or more
- 30-day driver’s license suspension if it is your third violation for driving without insurance, regardless of length of the lapse in coverage
Your driver’s license and registration can possibly be revoked outright if you cause an accident that results in $750 worth of damage while driving uninsured. It is just not worth the risk to drive in Nevada without having at least the minimum required coverage. Not only would you be protected, it is cheaper than having to pay these penalties if you are caught.
Now that you know the minimum insurance requirements for the state of Nevada, you may want to look into getting a new auto insurance policy. Freeway Insurance can provide the best coverage for your needs at an affordable price. Get Nevada car insurance online or over the phone at (800) 777-5620 to get protected and save big on quality coverage.