Get a Quote for Car Insurance in South Carolina Today!
Discounts for Car Insurance in Myrtle Beach
To ensure you get the cheapest car insurance rates possible, look into different discounts available to help bring the cost of your premiums down. For example, a Good Driver Discount rewards drivers with lower premiums if they have had no moving violations or at-fault accidents within the last three years.
In South Carolina, senior drivers can get a discount on their car insurance by taking a driver improvement course like one offered through the national program I Drive Safely.
Other discounts that could be available to Myrtle Beach residents include:
Good Student Discounts: These discounts are given to young drivers who maintain a “B” average or higher in school.
Continuously Insured Discount: If you’ve been insured for six months or more and haven’t let your policy lapse, then you may be eligible for this discount.
Vehicle Safety Discount: You could be eligible for a discount if your car has certain vehicle safety equipment such as anti-lock brakes, airbags, and anti-theft devices.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Myrtle Beach?
When you apply for or renew your driver’s license in South Carolina, you must show proof you carry at least the minimum insurance required by the state. If you cancel your policy, your insurance company notifies the DMV. The DMV will give you 20 days to provide proof of new insurance coverage, or they will suspend your driver’s license, registration, and license plates.
You must carry proof of your car insurance at all times when you drive in Myrtle Beach. If you don’t have it when you get pulled over by law enforcement, you’ll get a ticket. After the ticket, you’ll have 30 days to show proof of insurance, or your driver’s license, registration, and license plates will be suspended.
Getting your driver’s license, registration, and license plates back after suspension will cost you. Besides providing proof of insurance, you’ll also be subject to a $550 fee plus $5 per day for every day your car is uninsured (the maximum amount is $200).
Get a Quote for Car Insurance in Myrtle Beach Today!
The cost of getting car insurance could be considerably less than the fines and penalties you will face if you don’t have insurance, and that doesn’t include the costs you could face if you or someone else is injured in an accident.