Skip to main content

Undocumented Driver’s Licenses – Current Status of Approved States

Busy motorway with two lanes in each way.

A growing number of states now have laws that allow undocumented immigrants living in their respective states to apply for driver’s licenses. Although each state varies in its specific requirements and dates when these laws go into effect, they all emphasize the importance and necessity of driver training and education requirements.

Washington, Utah, Colorado, New Mexico, Illinois, Vermont, Maryland, Connecticut, Nevada, Oregon*, California now have laws giving access to driver’s licenses regardless of immigration status.

Several other states have pending laws; Arizona and Nebraska do not grant licensees to undocumented immigrants.

Presented below is a chart to direct you to resources with detailed information for the states impacted by these laws.

Undocumented Driver’s Licenses – Current Status of Approved States

    STATE                   EFFECTIVE                        FOR INFORMATION

Washington Apply now
Utah Apply now
Colorado 8/1/2014
New Mexico Apply now
Illinois 12/3/2013
Vermont 1/1/2014
Maryland 1/1/2014
Connecticut  Apply now
Nevada 1/2/2014
Oregon On hold*
California 1/1/2015

*DMV has suspended implementation of the Driver Card program pending the outcome of a statewide referendum vote in the November 2014 election. The Oregon Secretary of State’s Office announced Oct. 18 that a referendum on Senate Bill 833 has qualified for the ballot, so the law will not go into effect as scheduled.  If the results of the election reverse the legislation, DMV will cancel all work on the Driver Card program. If the election upholds the legislation, DMV will launch the Driver Card program 30 days after the results are official.

Ready to Get a Quick Quote?